What a Greenwich Village Walk Costs

What costs nothing
Greenwich Village has no gate, no ticket office and no single monument. Washington Square Park is open from 6 am to midnight, as NYC Parks publishes the hours (check nycgovparks.org), and the arch, the Hangman’s Elm, the fountain and the chess tables in the south-west corner are all in the open. The Stonewall National Monument Visitor Center at 51 Christopher Street, opened on 28 June 2024, charges no entry. Jefferson Market Library on Sixth Avenue is a public library. The “Friends” exterior at 90 Bedford Street and the stoop on Perry Street are seen from the pavement, which is all the residents allow anyway. The self-guided walk strings these places into one route.
What a guided walk adds
A booked walk sells a route and a lens: a guide, a fixed meeting point and a published list of stops. What each listing includes differs, and the table sets it out as the listings print it.
| Walk | Length | Included | Not included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Greenwich Village Tour | 2 hours | A local guide; groups of up to 10 | Not stated |
| Greenwich, SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown | 3 hours | Guided walk, food and sights recommendations, food and drinks, gratuities | Not stated |
| Greenwich Village Food Tour | 2.5 hours | Six tastings and a bottle of water | Tips, transport, wet-weather gear |
| Food Tour with 6 Authentic Tastings | 3 hours | Six tastings, one of them a “secret dish” | Transport, tips |
| Greenwich Village Ghost Tour | 2 hours, after dark | A local guide; groups of up to 10 | Not stated |
| Rock and Roll History Tour | 3 hours | A walking tour with a live guide, nothing else | Everything beyond the guide |
Why no price is printed here
Prices on GetYourGuide move with the date, the option and, on one walk, the language. The four-neighbourhood walk sells a standard group and a semi-private group of up to 8; the food walk also has a private option. A figure copied onto this page today could be wrong next month, so the widget below carries the live price for the chosen date instead.
Tips, and the “free” tours
Tips are a separate line. Both food walks state that tips are not included, while the four-neighbourhood walk includes gratuities. For the history walk, the ghost walk and the music walk the listing does not say either way. Several New York companies also run pay-what-you-wish walks of the Village, where the guide is paid in tips at the end. GetYourGuide does not sell those, and the free walking tour page explains how the model works.
Paying and cancelling
All six listings offer free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start, for a full refund. Two of them, the four-neighbourhood walk and the six-tastings food walk, also offer reserve now, pay later. No start time is published as fixed; the calendar in the widget lists the slots for each date. The tours hub sets all six side by side, and the page on how expensive the Village is deals with the cost of living there rather than the cost of a walk.
On a food walk the tastings stand in for a meal. Danielle (UK) summed up the six-tastings walk as “six food stops so definitely go hungry”, so a light breakfast is enough before a late-morning start.
Frequently asked questions
Is it free to walk around Greenwich Village?
Yes. The streets, Washington Square Park (6 am to midnight) and the Stonewall visitor center cost nothing. The self-guided walk gives a route in order.
How much is a Greenwich Village walking tour?
The price depends on the date and the option and shows live in the booking widget; this site prints none. The tours hub compares the six walks by content.
Are tips included in the walks?
The four-neighbourhood walk includes gratuities. Both food walks exclude tips. The history, ghost and music listings do not say.
Can a booking be cancelled?
Yes. All six walks have free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start, for a full refund.